A Bit of Nostalgia

This week as I met with my academic advisor to plan my junior year spring semester I began to realize how quickly my time in college is flying by! It was just two years ago that I came to Florida Tech with no flying experience and now my flight training is slowly coming to an end as I am finishing up my CFI course.

I really miss my commercial time building stages and all the cross countries that I had to do in that course. I also miss flying across Florida on my own and exploring what the different towns had to offer. Some of my experiences were so much fun, others not so much like the time I got stuck in Ocala one hot summer afternoon because my airplane would not start! However, after maintenance checked out the airplane and finally got in started, my flight back to Melbourne was one of my favorite. On my way back from Ocala, ATC vectored me over Orlando International Airport at 2500 feet! What an experience it was!

Displaying 20140609_135419.jpg

Another one of my favorite cross country flights was when I did my seven hour cross country flight from Melbourne to Bainridge, GA to Jacksonville International. Bainridge was a very interesting airport and it seemed as if it was in the middle of nowhere, the airport was very quiet and no other aircraft was in the traffic pattern when I arrived. I was also the only customer at the fixed based operator that I went to for fuel. Although  It was a very tedious flight but after I completed it I felt so accomplished. I’m looking forward to start working as a flight instructor and to be able to get the opportunity to do cross countries all across Florida with my students.

Here are some other pictures from previous cross countries:

Displaying 20140521_101110.jpgDisplaying 20140626_160042.jpg

NIFA Regional Flight Competition Results..

So last week, I promised the results for the NIFA regional flight competition. So here they are…

Flying Events

1st Place- Florida Institute of Technology

2nd Place- Embry Riddle Aeronautical University

3rd Place- Auburn University

Ground Events

1st Place- Embry Riddle Aeronautical University

2nd Place- Florida Institute of Technology

3rd Place- Auburn University

Overall Results

1st Place- Embry Riddle Aeronautical University

2nd Place- Florida Institute of Technology

3rd Place- Auburn University

These three teams have now advanced to the National Competition to be held at Ohio State University on May 9th, 2016.  Also, a big congratulations to all the teams that participated in this year’s regional competition!

Leave a Reply

